og:image" content=""https://s12.postimg.org/akaze8k99/blog.png"" /> Gidman's Treasures And Nuggets: October 2009

Thursday, 15 October 2009

The Doors - Live in New York (6CD Set) Limited Edition

"Rhino and Bright Midnight Archives unleash four inspired performances from The Doors’ final tour with LIVE IN NEW YORK.

As an added bonus during the Live in New York Pre-order, we'll be randomly selecting customers to give (1) one autographed copy each of the Live in New York set. Pre-order now for your chance to win....

(10) Ten Grand Prize Winners will receive (1) one autographed copy of Live in New York. BUY HERE.....

This six-disc collection contains all four of The Doors’ performances – in their entirety – recorded in 1970 at the Felt Forum in New York City. Recorded January 17 and 18, 1970 – just a few weeks before the release of Morrison Hotel – these concerts find Jim Morrison, John Densmore, Robby Krieger, and Ray Manzarek locked in tight as they deliver smoking takes on soon-to-be-classics from their forthcoming album.

Fans will be blown away by the crisp sound found on LIVE IN NEW YORK. All four shows were mixed and mastered by the band’s longtime engineer, Bruce Botnick, who recorded a number of shows from The Doors’ 1970 tour on multi-track tape for the Absolutely Live album. Sadly, these shows represent The Doors’ final New York City performances with Morrison, who passed away July 3, 1971.

Click product image for more information and tracklists.

Ray Manzarek hails these shows as a return to the group’s early days, when they used to play a club called London Fog. “I mean, talk about going back to basics. We used to do four sets a night at the London Fog, and we only had a small block of songs written up to that time. So we would do other people’s material. And in New York, it was like the same thing as the London Fog. We’ve got four shows to play here, two sets tonight, two sets tomorrow night. Let’s play whatever we want! Let’s just go!”

Go they did. Along with a mix of then-unheard new songs and old covers, the band also tapped into its 1967, self-titled debut, peppering the set lists with signature songs such as “Break On Through (To The Other Side),” “Soul Kitchen,” “The End,” and “Light My Fire,” The Doors’ first #1 hit. Adding to the improvisational nature of the run, on the final night, the band was joined onstage by two guests– The Lovin’ Spoonful’s John Sebastian (who played harmonica on the studio version of “Roadhouse Blues”) and drummer Dallas Taylor.

Track Listing

Disc 1

January 17, 1970 (First Show)

1. Start Of Show
2. “Roadhouse Blues”
3. “Ship Of Fools”*
4. “Break On Through (To The Other Side)”
5. Tuning
6. “Peace Frog”
7. “Blue Sunday”
8. “Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)”
9. “Back Door Man”*
10. “Love Hides”*
11. “Five To One”*
12. Tuning/Breather
13. “Who Do You Love”
14. “Little Red Rooster”
15. “Money”
16. Tuning
17. “Light My Fire”*
18. More, More, More
19. “Soul Kitchen”*
20. End Of Show

Disc 2

January 17, 1970 (Second Show)

1. Start Show 2
2. Jim “How Ya Doing?”
3. “Roadhouse Blues”
4. “Break On Through (To The Other Side)”* 5. “Ship Of Fools”
6. “Crawling King Snake”
7. “Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)”
8. “Back Door Man”*
9. “Five To One”
10. Pretty Neat, Pretty Good
11. “Build Me A Woman”
12. Tuning/Breather
13. “Who Do You Love”*
14. Tuning/Breather
15. “Wild Child”*
16. Cheering/Tuning
17. “When The Music’s Over”

Disc 3

January 17, 1970 (Second Show) continued

1. Tuning/Breather
2. “Light My Fire”*
3. Hey, Mr. Light Man!
4. “Soul Kitchen”*
5. Jim’s Fish Joke
6. “The End”
7. End Of Show

Disc 4

January 18, 1970 (Third Show)

1. Start Show 3
2. “Roadhouse Blues”*
3. “Ship Of Fools”*
4. “Break On Through (To The Other Side)”*
5. Tuning/Breather
6. “Universal Mind”*
7. “Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)” – False Start*
8. “Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)”*
9. “Back Door Man”*
10. “Five To One”
11. Tuning/Breather
12. “Moonlight Drive”
13. “Who Do You Love”*
14. Calling Out For Songs
15. “Money”*
16. Tuning/Breather
17. “Light My Fire”
18. More, More More
19. “When The Music’s Over”*
20. Good Night – End Show

Disc 5

January 18, 1970 (Fourth Show)

1. Start Show 4
2. “Roadhouse Blues”*
3. “Peace Frog”*
4. “Alabama Song (Whisky Bar)”*
5. “Back Door Man”
6. “Five To One”
7. We Have A Special Treat
8. “Celebration Of The Lizard”
9. Alright Let’s Boogie
10. “Build Me A Woman”
11. “When The Music’s Over”*
12. More, More, More

Disc 6

January 18, 1970 (Fourth Show) continued

1. “Soul Kitchen”*
2. For Fear Of Getting Too Patriotic
3. Petition The Lord With Prayer
4. “Light My Fire”
5. Only When The Moon Comes Out
6. “Close To You”
7. The Encore Begins
8. “Rock Me”*
9. What To Do Next?
10. “Going To N.Y. Blues”*
11. Tuning/Breather
12. “Maggie M’Gill”*
13. Tuning/Breather
14. “Gloria”*/End Of Show

*Previously unreleased


LIMITED EDITION - Massive Attack 'Splitting The Atom' 12"

Product Details:

• Limited to just 1,000 copies worldwide, this beautifully presented and individually numbered vinyl and art edition has been crafted by The Vinyl Factory, working in close collaboration with Massive's Robert del Naja and designer Tom Hingston.

• This is the only physical release of Massive's stunning new four-track EP, 'Splitting The Atom', featuring guest vocalists Horace Andy, Tunde Adebimpe (TV On The Radio), Martina Topley-Bird and Guy Garvey (Elbow), as well as Damon Albarn, and the producers behind Fever Ray.

• Includes a 180-gram heavyweight vinyl record, pressed on the legendary EMI 1400, with laser-etched labels on either side.

• The record is housed in a bronze-foiled and printed sleeve with artwork by Robert del Naja, produced on pristine Colourplan white board with solid black inner lining.

• Available to pre-order now!

• Estimated shipping date October 19th

Click here to order :-

Just ordered mine - Nice

Tuesday, 6 October 2009

'Red Lightbulb Theory '87-'88' Double Vinyl on Sound Signature

Theo Parrish releases a compilation of Chicago House producer Leron Carson's work from back in the day - touched up by Omar S.

After the previous post...about the Roland TB303...I've been listening to many of my oldschool 12"s and albums from back in the day. So I was pleasantly supprised when I came accross this release on one of my favourite contemporary labels - Theo Parrish's 'Sound Signature Label'.

Fact Magazine states "This week sees the release of Red Lightbulb Theory '87-'88, a compilation of tracks he recorded when Carson was in his mid-teens. Over twenty years after these tunes were cut to tape, Parrish is releasing them on 2x12" via his Sound Signature label, with some re-engineering from AOS aka Detroit's man-of-the-year Omar-S. What's great about tracks is how raw and unfussy they are: proper Chicago box jams, recorded without sequencing and relying on cassette tape overdubs for layering".

1. Mechanism
2. Dedicated
3. The Unknown
4. China II
5. Red Lightbulb

Grab a copy or check the sound clips HERE.