og:image" content=""https://s12.postimg.org/akaze8k99/blog.png"" /> Gidman's Treasures And Nuggets: November 2011

Sunday, 27 November 2011

Uncle Dugs "Run Come Follow Me" Radio Show .........

For a number of months now I have been listening to Uncle Dugs "Run Come Follow Me" Radio Show on RINSE FM (UK)- Every show is a history lesson when it comes to Oldskool Rave/Jungle/Drum & Bass. So I thought I should post a heads up for this weeks show.......another BANGER !!!

"Uncle Dugs Run Come Follow Friday show recorded live on Rinse FM on 25-11-2011

On this weeks show we had a bag of 92 classics right up till our special guest Mr Danny Donnelly of Sub Base, Boogie times and loads more popped in for this weeks interview..

We spoke about everything from before the shop and label days right through that whole rave period up till what he has done in recent years with the best seeling Pure & Euphoria compilation brands and now his career in writing and directing movies..

Wicked tunes, wicked interview...!!

Download link... Click here. (Right Click & Save)


1. macka brown - dubplate style - labello blanco
2. dj edge - compnded - edge
3. dj seduction - higher now - impact
4. criminal minds - baptized by dub - white house
5. urban shakedown - some justice (concrete jungle mix) - urban shakedown
6. ratpack - searchin' for my rizla - big giant music
7. dance conspiracy - dub war - metamorphosis
8. mc lethal - the rave digger - network
9. doc scott - nhs (disco mix) - absolute 2
10. bodysnatch - euphony - big city
11. rufige cru - believe - reinforced
12. nookie - give a little love - absolute 2
13. menace makes 3 - do you feel what im feeling - danse city
14. urban hype - trip to trumpton - faze 2
15. sacred - keep it going - white
16. origination - break down - rudeboy
17. criminal minds - flynny's theme - white house
18. phantasy & gemini - never try the hippodrome - liquid wax
19. ragga twins feat junior reid - shine eye - shut up & dance
20. demon boyz - jungle dett (hardcore house mix) - tribal bass
21. brothers grimm - exodus (the lion awakes) - production house
22. jonny l - hurt you so - yo!yo!
23. code 071 - a london sumtin' - reinforced
24. guy called gerald - sunshine - juice box
25. awesome 3 - dont go - entity
26. acen - trip to the moon pt 2 (the dark side) - production house

Danny Donnelly interview

27. dj hype feat mc gq - roll the beats - sub base
28. dj hype - dubplate fever - sub base

Thursday, 17 November 2011

A Return From my Hiatus

It's been quite a while since my last post - due to unplanned opertion to my back... all good now and what better way to return than with a masterful mix by Objekt.

"FACTs 300th mix comes from almost certainly our dance music newcomer of 2011, Berlin’s Objekt.

Objekt hasn’t released much in 2011, but that’s one of the reasons his emergence has been so welcome. In an age of oversaturation and overexposure, where people feel the need to upload their entire life stories to Soundcloud after two weeks of watching Logic tutorials, he’s the definition of someone who’s taken time to hone a craft (he’s actually worked as a programmer at Native Instruments for several years, which goes some way to explaining why his music is so sonically potent), and waited until they’re 100% ready before exposing their wares to the world at large.

And what an impact Objekt’s music has made. His first self-released single, ‘Tinderbox’ / ‘The Goose That Got Away’, was such an impressive amalgamation of half-step atmospherics and rickety techno drum programming that people were convinced it was the work of a more established producer under a new alias, while its follow up paired one of the year’s most stratospheric techno tracks (‘CLK Recovery’) with a B-side that proved that club-stopping dubstep drops don’t have to be stupid in 2011 (‘Unglued’). Combined with remixes for Call Super, Sbtrkt and Radiohead, and ‘Cactus’, a deadly dubplate that proved a highlight of Ben UFO’s recent mix CD for Rinse, he’s built up a small but powerful discovery with hints of STL, Mala, Peverelist and more to it already.

Objekt’s FACT mix is roughly in line with the music he’s released so far: underground techno full of staggered drums and inventive sampling, presented impeccably while never sounding too straight, smooth or unnatural. No tracklist provided, but there appears to be at least one unreleased Objekt cut in there for the spotters