og:image" content=""https://s12.postimg.org/akaze8k99/blog.png"" /> Gidman's Treasures And Nuggets: ELECTRO - ALL 33 ALBUMS (Streetsounds)

Monday, 4 February 2008

ELECTRO - ALL 33 ALBUMS (Streetsounds)

Thought I should remind anybody who thinks Hip Hop/Rap started with Dr Dre or Kanye West.........Back in 1983, I came accross a cassette being sold in a local record shop. It caught my eye and next....my ear.....WOW, I had never heard anything like it !!!!!!.....so for all of you who have never heard this genre busting, futuristic blueprint for modern dance music today, he is a posting of all 33 Streetsound's Electro Albums...and some other classic old school albums.

This is what the D.E.F. Momentum BLOG says "Streetsounds was part of the UK Streetwave stable of labels created by Morgan Khan. A Hong Kong-born Indian who grew up in London, Khan had worked in the UK record industry since the mid 1970's, working for such names as PRT Distribution (a division of Pye Records) and R&B Records, for whom at the time Imagination were the up and coming stars of the day.

Khan founded the independent Streetwave record label during 1981 to specialise in releasing Electro and Hi-NRG releases. Within a year of creation, Streetwave began the Streetsounds series of albums; compilations created from some of the hottest 12" imports of the day. These releases made available a selection of the most contemporary dance floor hits within the financial reach of those wanting to hear the freshest sounds. In the early 80's a 12" single was priced around £2 and you would pay over £4 for an import 12". The Streetsounds series offered usually 8 to 12 full-length 12" mixes for under a fiver. Understandably, the Streetsounds series was met with considerable enthusiasm and, some might say, mighty relief.

This series would run for over 6 years and contain over 50 albums. By far the most coveted of the Streetsounds releases were the Electro series. These albums introduced the UK to the developing hip-hop scene from America - a stroke of genius that brought electro and early hip hop from the underground to the UK high street and, one could argue, helped in the creation of the UK's hip hop scene.

The Electro series ran for a total of 27 albums (and one box set) from 1982 to 1988. The albums were initially labeled"Streetsounds Electro" with the title morphing into "Streetsounds Hip Hop" after release 12 in 1986.

All of the albums were competently mixed by a series of the best remixers of the day - predominately from the UK. A large proportion of the mixes on the early releases were completed by Mastermind, a London-based hip-hop sound system from the early 80s. Headed by "Herbie The Mastermind" (aka Herbie Laidley) the team also featured Kiss FM radio DJ's Dave VJ and Max LX who were also members of UK electro outfit Hard Rock Soul Movement, responsible for the massive "Double Def Fresh" release

Click here for Link.

Many thanks to the D.E.F. Momentum BLOG site


  1. This is fantastic, but the password's no longer valid.

  2. Has the password changed?

  3. Will Check Password for the electro albums.....

  4. Hi, I have checked link.....and re-posted with correct address.....pw is 060309....ENJOY

  5. much thanks got most of these on various vinyl and cassetes..but been wanting to treat my i pod to some original electr flava..

    many thanks


  6. Oh Man, thank you so much for these true, true classics. Totally Fresh post! Thank you.

    Getafix '86

  7. Is there any chance for a reup, have many of them in bad quality and hope for an update. Many thanks already this is highly appreciated!

  8. Replies
    1. Would be great if it worked maybe try Mega NZ.

      Please anyone have this link in a working Lossless file to download.

      Muchas Gracias Compadr├ęs.

  9. Hi. Would love some of these but can't get the link to work. Any chance you could re-up please?

  10. Hi. Would love some of these but can't get the link to work. Any chance you could re-up please?

    I 2nd that Request...

  11. Please re-up... many many thanks in advance...

  12. This comment has been removed by the author.

    1. https://petermesh.blogspot.com/

      There is a link there to all the albums

  13. It seems to be missing Crucial Electro 4 (2 cd / double lp)