og:image" content=""https://s12.postimg.org/akaze8k99/blog.png"" /> Gidman's Treasures And Nuggets: New FACT mix 129: Seiji

Thursday, 11 March 2010

New FACT mix 129: Seiji

To coincide with FACT's Top 20 Broken Beat feature that I posted recently, Fact Magazine also posted a new mixtape by Don DJ Seiji, so i thought i'd mirror/post a link here to the set...

"Paul Dolby – better known as Seiji - has played a hallowed role in the evolution and enrichment of UK dance music.

Ever since his 1996 debut, the Close Encounters EP, the Londoner has been engineering uniquely bashy, swung grooves that take inspiration from the special torques and syncopations of jazz and the musics of Africa, South America and the Caribbean. One of the progenitors of “broken beat”, and a long-time member of Bugz In The Attic, Seiji’s influence is now more keenly felt than ever, with myriad UK funky and contemporary garage producers referencing his work, consciously and, at times, unconsciously. 2562, Shortstuff, Martyn, Untold, Bok Bok, Altered Natives, Roska, Geeneus – these are just a few of the producers who owe a significant debt to Seiji.

Over the past decade and a half Dolby has proved a prolific and restless talent, presenting his own fresh and eccentric takes on house, hip-hop, R&B, drum ‘n bass, dancehall and 2-step, most recently making “weird rave” with Riton as Computer Juice. Still, if you’ve not checked out the wealth of paradigm-shifting material he recorded in the years 1995-2003, that’s where you should begin: get hold of his three 12″s for Reinforced, the incredible ‘Into The Now’ (released on 12″ by Dego’s 2000 Black imprint, subsequently licensed by Carl Craig’s Planet E) and – a particular FACT favourite – his none-more-bruk remix of Fertile Ground’s ‘The Moment’.

Next week we’ll be presenting our selection of the 20 Best Broken Beats Records Ever Made, and the feature is heralded today by a superb new mix, exclusive to FACT, from Seiji. Weighing in at a colossal 29 tracks – the man is an incendiary, quick-mixing DJ, capable of shifting rhythms and tempos with supernatural skill and flair – it features no less than ten of his own productions, including the classic ‘Loose Lips’ and his recent remixes of Florence & The Machine and Gorillaz. Elsewhere there’s original ‘ardkore from Kaotic Chemistry, fresh dubstep from Skream and Mark Pritchard, house and funky from Mr Mageeka, DJ Gregory and Masters At Work, plus top-notch productions from Anthony ‘Shake’ Shakir, Sbtrkt, Greenmoney and Tim Green. It’s a mix that showcases the breadth and inclusivity of Seiji’s tastes, and it will also give you considerable insight into the depth, range and versatility of his own beats.

Those of you who know what’s what will already be downloading the mix. The rest of you, don’t sleep: here’s your one-stop opportunity to acquaint yourself with the work of a true dancefloor maverick. Get listening, and turn the page for our Q&A with Paul, wherein he tells us about his current projects (including his production work for Roisin Murphy’s new LP), and considers the meaning and legacy of ‘broken beat’.



01. New Sector Movements – Digital Age [Virgin]
02. Greenmoney feat. Mz. Bratt – Who’s Greenmoney [dub]
03. Gorillaz – Stylo (Seiji remix) [Parlophone]
04. Seiji – Elevator [Seijimusic]
05. Seiji – Yesman [Seijimusic]
06. Todd Edwards – Rite Now [Grassroots]
07. Erykah Badu – Honey (Seiji remix) [Motown]
08. Basement Jaxx – Scars (Seiji remix) [XL]
09. Kaotic Chemistry – LSD [Moving Shadow]
10. Donaeo – Riot Music (Skream remix) [Digital Soundboy]
11. Mark Pritchard – Elephant Dub [Deep Medi]
12. Bugg Kann & The Plastic Jam – Made in Two Minutes [Labello Blanco]
13. Seiji – Hohoho [Seijigoodies]
14. Blapps Posse – Don’t Hold Back (Blappstramental) [Tribal Bass]
15. Tinie Tempah – Pass Out (Sbtrkt remix) [Parlophone]
16. Greenmoney feat. Lady Chann – Political Hype Dub [Fool’s Gold]
17. DJ Gregory & Sidney Samson feat. Dama S. – Dama S Salon [Defected]
18. DJ Joe T. Vannelli feat. Csilla – Play with the Voice (MAW remix) [Nervous]
19. DJ Champion – Motherboard [white label]
20. Mr Mageeka – Different Lekstrix [Numbers]
21. Seiji – Loose Lips (instrumental) [Bitasweet]
22. Lady Sovereign – Random (IG Culture remix) [dub]
23. DJ Beware & Motorpitch – El Toro (Seiji remix) [Man Recordings]
24. Seiji – It’s You [dub]
25. Tim Green – Kitsch In [Dirty Bird]
26. Florence and the Machine – Drumming Song (Seiji’s Squelchy Rub) [seiji.co.uk]
27. Anthony ‘Shake’ Shakir – Sunrise [Seventh City]
28. Extra Ts – E.T. Boogie [Sunnyview]
29. Seiji – I Can’t Let It Go [Seijigoodies]